Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Buyer Beware!

Update by user May 06, 2021

After complaining to the NY BBB and Washington State consumer affairs division this company has done nothing to accept accountability and is adamant they did nothing wrong

Original review posted by user Apr 06, 2021
I would not do business with this company due to unfair and unethical practices. They will ask you for your home inspection report and if anything is called out they will use it to deny your claim even if they seller has addressed the issues within the report. They did this for us when we filed a claim for the built in microwave that stopped working. Had me have a technician come out then had me send in the inspection report. Because the report mentioned a kitchen GFCI outlet they denied the claim saying it could have caused the issue, this after I told them them the seller fixed the issue before closing. In addition, it is impossible to get a hold of them. Their automated phone system prompts you to file a claim online. You can't because there is no functionality to do so and you are unable to log into your account. Their response every time is it is "under maintenance." If you call, their automated system puts you on hold for 20 minutes, then hangs up on you. They tell you they're available 24/7 but if you call on the weekend you receive a message that no agents are available and it hangs up on you. Feels like a total scam! I've filed a complaint with my State to try and get a full refund.

User's recommendation: BUYER BEWARE! Spend a little more for a reputable home warranty company.

View full review
ID
#2491422 Review #2491422 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Horrible customer service
Loss
$643
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Inadequate service

Update by user Apr 28, 2021

Not resolved as of 4/28/2021

Update by user Apr 28, 2021

Been waiting over 45 days for refund after cancelling contract

Original review posted by user Apr 28, 2021
Put in 2 claims,Stay away first one vendor sent was rude, 2nd claim vendor never responded, called HSC back and received No customer service at all, end result was cancellation of policy, which was paid upfront for 3 years. Still waiting for refund for over 45 days, no response from customer service.
View full review
ID
#2525190 Review #2525190 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
The Home Service Club Claim
Cons
  • No service
  • Rude tech
  • Horrible customer service
Loss
$1800
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Big Ripoff -Don't expect them to warranty anything

We submitted a request on 26 May 2020, and we received an e-mail asking for our home inspection. We submitted it 3 times to 3 different e-mails and never heard anything. Finally, weeks later we called and were assured someone would be sent to look at our electrical issue. We waited for 2 days at their insistence that a licensed electrician would contact us, and they did not. We had to go ahead and make our own repairs due to this. We were very upset about the companies lack of response to our needed repairs. On 14 June we asked for a supervisor to contact us as soon as possible to find out what recourse we have. This did not happen. Worst customer service ever!!!

User's recommendation: Do not use them!

View full review
1 comment
#1995758

I agree 100%. Everything i tried to have then fix was "too old" and only gave a meager allowance toward a repair.

ID
#2161305 Review #2161305 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$585
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

No Service Home Club!

I have a refrigerator that needs repair. The Home Service Club gave me the name/number of a repair shop in my area. I have heard from no one in 5 days. For a Refrigerator! I finally called the repair shop and they no longer give service. They told this to the Home Service Club. But the Club never told me. I don't know if they will ever get back to me. HORRIBLE SERVICE!!! And this is my first experience. I would never renew with them. I also had to wait 40 minutes on the phone to even report my issue. Negative Review!

User's recommendation: Don't Use The Home Service Club.

View full review
ID
#2024599 Review #2024599 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

No Service!

I have been trying for over two weeks to get a Garbage Disposal Repaired or Replaced to no avail. I have phoned in multiple requests, emailed the request and put the request in online, all to no response. The only thing they have done is to send a form to complete that is not user friendly, it would not print and was not fillable. I had to separately put all the information onto a Word Document and submit it. Since that time I have not heard back from the company. I do make a daily call to the person that is supposed to be handling the claim and leave her a voicemail which she never returns. Very frustrating company to work with! A garbage disposal is a simple appliance, I don't think I would want to try to get an air conditioner repaired by this company. I have heard that they have a difficult time getting a contractor to work for them since they are just as difficult getting payment from. Truly frustrated and ready to attempt cancelling my policy!

User's recommendation: Beware!

View full review
ID
#2010590 Review #2010590 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Wide coverage plans
Cons
  • No service
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Frustrated and irritated consumer

I have had 5 different things go wrong in the last 2 months and none were resolved. My ac is acting up the lady in customer service says we don't do urgent request this request is almost 2 weeks old and I have severe asthma. She told me to call my home insurance if that is the case really. In contract, it says 24 to 48 hours and her excuse is COVID-19. When they do send u to a company must company say they don't mess with them because they don't pay! I have talk to supervisor but none help just give run around and then don't respond any longer

User's recommendation: Never.

View full review
ID
#1981330 Review #1981330 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$825
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

HORRIBLE SERVICE

13 days ago my a/c went out, I called for a service call and a contractor diagnosed the problem and sent in the info to HSC. I have been just getting the run around by this company. I have asked 5 times for a supervisor to call me and have not received 1 call. Everytime I call I am on hold for at least an hour. Have tried 7 calling 7 times today stay on hold for 15 minutes then a message comes on saying no agents avail and to leave a message and they will call back, Several times the prompt says press 5 and an agent will call back ASAP. It has been over 100 degrees many of these days and I have been without air. This company is total *** I will be filing a complaint with the insurance commissioner of California and with the Attorney Generals Consumer Affairs Division. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!

User's recommendation: *** NO.

View full review
ID
#1968028 Review #1968028 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

So far the service was good, but you should lessen the waiting time of your customers.

My washer is not draining properly. Unfortunately, I cannot submit a claim online due to application issues so I call customer service instead. After 30 minutes waiting in queue, I was able to spoke to a rep and process my claim. A few hours later the contractor arrived and opened the cabinet to gain access and guess what a lot of foreign objects have been found such as pens and coins get wedged between the basket and the tub. I should better check the pockets before washing them. So far the service was good, but you should lessen the waiting time of your customers.
View full review
ID
#1640032 Review #1640032 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Service
The Home Service Club Claim
Pros
  • Cheap monthly
  • Prompt tech
  • Comprehensive plans
Cons
  • Contractors list is limited on some areas
  • Rude tech
Reason of review
Fair pricing
New Reviewer

Nice claims process ever since I subscribed

HSC has been absolutely wonderful and I have totally enjoyed my relationship with them over the last year and plan to renew for many more years. They've repaired my A/C in April 2018 and it completely died in July 2018 and they replaced my unit. Great customer service and great contractor hired by HSC.
View full review
ID
#1610004 Review #1610004 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Service
The Home Service Club Claim
Pros
  • Wide coverage plans
  • Respectful tech
  • Comprehensive plans
Cons
  • Response time
Reason of review
Good customer service
New Reviewer

I've been using Home Service Club for service and maintenance of our air conditioning and heating system for at least 4-5 years

I've been using Home Service Club for service and maintenance of our air conditioning and heating system for at least 4-5 years. I'm very happy with the service and the quality and professionalism of the technicians that come to my home to do the work. They have kept our system in tip-top performance all these years. Today they came to the rescue again!
View full review
ID
#1604537 Review #1604537 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Service
The Home Service Club Claim
Pros
  • Great customer service
  • Customer service
  • Wide coverage plans
Cons
  • Contractors list is limited on some areas
  • Response time
Reason of review
Reliable warranty
New Reviewer

Very pleased with Home Service Club

Very pleased with Home Service Club ! They respond quickly to your situation when needed. Annual tune-up to my HVAC system was done thoroughly.. No complaints from me ! Will be extending my plan to 2020 for sure. These guys are so nice and genuine people who want to protect my home.
View full review
ID
#1597213 Review #1597213 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Service
The Home Service Club Claim
Pros
  • Prompt tech
  • Comprehensive plans
  • Respectful tech
Cons
  • Response time
Reason of review
Good quality
New Reviewer

Pre-existing allowed does not mean what they say

First off they took almost to weeks to get a contractor to come out and at the rental property. It was a leaky garden tub faucet. Topically a simple fix but I'm currently out of state due to the military, so I put in a request. 2 weeks passed and no phone calls from HSC. I had to call them and wait forever. One they got someone there, that said it is not covered because it was something that had gained a long time ago, the stem inside the faucet. Well, isn't that pre-exisiting? I couldn't get a good read on what pre-existing means. So they lied to me when I got them in the first place. By the way there was no leak when I got my service work them. It was almost a month after I got service that my Tennant told me about the leak. To make matters worse the plumber they sent told me $250 to get it fixed.. A stem, that costs $12? How much is labor? Apparently they send the lowest bidders and people who want to rip you off to fix your home. I'm not pleased at all. Also, no way to track anything on the website, it is a horrible design.
View full review
ID
#1570295 Review #1570295 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Resolved: Don't expect to get fast service. Or any service at all!

In February this year, my clothes dryer quit heating. I made the claim and 2 weeks later hadn't heard anything. Finally got through to customer service (prepare to be on hold at LEAST 30 minutes) and they said they couldn't find a vendor to come fix it. They finally found someone and 5 weeks later my dryer was fixed. NOW, I have had a claim unanswered for OVER A MONTH on my home AC unit. I have been calling and sitting on hold every other day, only to be told that it was in their department making a determination on the ticket. I live in the South, and it has been over 90 degrees every day with no AC. Their answer? "Check with your home insurance, maybe they will put you up in a hotel." I cannot believe the good reviews of this company, it is like they are reviewing a completely different company than I have had experience with!!!! (I STILL have no A/C and am on hold once again as I type this)...
View full review
Resolved
ID
#1555693 Review #1555693 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
The Home Service Club Claim
Cons
  • Response time
Reason of review
No response to claim
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

If You Have Home Service Club (HSC) Don't Have PreExisting Anything?

I filed an air conditioner claim on a Friday afternoon believing I would receive service within 24 hours. I have had other home warranty companies in the past, and since I have purchased the most comprehensive service plan from this company I expected good turnaround. They did not respond to my calls until 3 days later. At that time I was told that they need to get a home inspection report, previously advised not needed, because air and heating might have previous problems. I sent the documents from our home purchase 5 months previous and they said that the air conditioner had debris near it in the inspection, making the coverage questionable. They sent a tech out today and he indicated the fan motor was going out due to normal wear and tear. He had us pay an inspection fee and told me it was up to HSC to tell us if it was covered. I received a call an hour later advising they would not be covering the air conditioner repair because this was caused by a preexisting issue. (Oh, by the way, the debris was due to wind and was cleared quickly) I told her it had worked for 4 months without issue and had been serviced a couple of months ago so it had been maintained. I asked if I found out a few months from now that my heater needed repair if they would say that was also preexisting? She said it was a case by case basis but that was a possibility. Why would I pay for a home warranty if they are going to say that because the house has existed for 10 years, that things had worn down and were no longer covered? Don't trust them, my friends. You will be screwed
View full review
ID
#909203 Review #909203 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
Service
The Home Service Club Claim
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Preferred solution
Full refund

Avoid The Home Service Club!!!

This is the BBB report I filed. Judge for yourself. I will never recommend that company. Stacy Clark at ext 5037 is the rudest person and I just cannot believe what I just experienced with a supposed legitimate business. "This is by far the worst customer service I have EVER encountered. The so called "sr Supervisor, Stacy Clark at extension 5037 made a bad situation ten times worse and she is the reason for this complaint above anything else that occurred. This individual should be fired! She is the rudest and nastiest person in customer service I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with and you should be ashamed that she is representing your company. I filed a water leak claim yesterday and it was my belief that I would receive same day service since I have purchased the most comprehensive service plan from this company. I was not extended this service and made an appointment for the plumber to come out today 12/8 between 12 and 4. I receive a call around 1:30 PM from the plumbing company, Elevated Plumbing that they could not honor my appointment and needed to reschedule again! My husband took time off to be there at the designated time only to learn they will not be showing up. I immediately called the warranty company to inform them of the problem and spoke with easily the rudest person I have ever in life had to deal with, Stacy Clark. She assumed I was calling about the complaint I wrote the day before letting them know that I was upset that I could not receive same day service. Instead of allowing me to explain why I was calling she continuously and arrogantly spoke over me. I kept telling her to stop talking over me and she kept doing it over and over again. I ended up hanging up on her because I could not get a word in edgewise. I will be leaving a review of this experience on every consumer site, however based on this experience I am quite doubtful that customer service and retention is valued at this company. That Stacy Clark person should be fired on the spot."
View full review
ID
#747451 Review #747451 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Springfield, Virginia
Service
The Home Service Club Claim
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article